Oui chef!

Like an episode from the Masterchef Quarter Finals, this week I got the opportunity to work a couple of services in a professional kitchen at the amazing restaurant Dickies Farm Dining located in the village of Plungar in Nottinghamshire.

Thanks to the kind offer of Rich the owner (AKA Dickie) I joined Rich, Emily, Saff and Max for two days. And I absolutely loved it.

Dickies is a special place and, as a customer, I have seen it grow up from its early days with an outdoor kitchen and a few tables to the building of the Cow Shed (the kitchen and dining room) and the development of its food offerings and reputation. It’s about honest food, build around locally sourced produce and Rich’s skills as a butcher with a focus on amazing beef steaks.

The butchers counter ready for service

Over two exhausting days I got to see how a professional restaurant operates, behind the scenes, preparation and then service……. the buzz and adrenaline pump of service.

I was thrown into the deep-end and under the close watch of Emily and Saff got the opportunity to prep a number of dishes, bake bread and work in service finishing off the legendary triple cooked chips and carefully preparing the local Saxondale Asparagus.

Did I enjoy it? Hell yes

Will I be back? I hope so.

3 thoughts on “Oui chef!

Leave a comment