Time Out!

As of 29th April 2019 I’m officially on sabbatical leave

So if you found your way here you are probably aware that, after 28-years in gainful employment, I have seized the opportunity to move away from the corporate world for 12-months and take some time out. Sabbatical leave according to the HR policy. The timing was good, my current assignment had ended, the loose ends all closed, the people I care about sorted and nothing obvious for me to step into so why not.

Wiki tells me that “the concept of the sabbatical is based on the Biblical practice of shmita, and Jews in the Land of Israel must take a year-long break from working the fields every seven years. A “sabbatical” has come to mean an extended absence in the career of an individual to fulfil some goal, e.g., writing a book or travelling extensively for research”.

Well I am not sure about writing a book but with my highly trained corporate mindset still in existence (its going to take a while for this to change) I have set myself a number of objectives and goals to achieve during the next 12-months. These include:

  • Recharging the batteries, and improving health & fitness.
  • Spending much more time with family and friends. Supporting my daughter through her Exams and into University. Reconnecting.
  • Travelling extensively with anyone who’ll come with me.
  • Attending the 12-week certified course at the Ballymaloe Cookery School in Ireland http://cookingisfun.ie/certificate-course/12-week-certificate-course-overview
  • Building new memories and learning new skills. Working out what the next chapter looks like for Mrs Slater and I.

I have been challenged to share my experiences over the next 12-months and will attempt to do that in this blog (my first new skill, setting up a blog). So please follow, comment and share. I’ll try and keep in interesting!

10 thoughts on “Time Out!

  1. Tim. You won’t regret this decision. It will change your life. I am heading out to Tokyo in October for the RWC. If you fancy tagging along let me know. Chris Page

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Dear Tim,
    This step you take demonstrates that you are special and brave person.
    You were always a model of leadership for me and this decision makes me think I was right.
    I have gone through a similar process myself recently due to a serious health problem, and the Time out I believe has helped me alot.
    Enjoy life, you deserve it mate.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Tim

    Have a great time, enjoy every minute and we look forward to having you back in our great company in 12 months time. Happy travels!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. You deserve a break, Tim. I don’t know anyone who has given such committment to the job and, more importantly, so much support to your colleagues down the years.

    Hope you get to spend more time time with the Mrs and indeed your children as they’ll soon be embarking on their own exciting adventures away from home as ours are doing.

    Wishing you well as always. Do call in if you’re ever passing by. Steve

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Great to hear from you Steve. You are so right reference the children heading off. Joe will be final year next year and Lucy starts in September. I’ll take responsibility planning our next get together seeing I have a little time now.

      Like

  5. I guarantee “Sunday nights and Monday mornings” will feel truly liberating. The change of tone from “what have I got to do this week” to “what do I want to achieve this week” changes your perspective completely. You’ll love it! Enjoy, and if you swing down towards Marlow or “the big smoke” give me a shout…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment